Archive | 10:05 am

Camera Decision: Canon 500D/T1i

16 Oct

For years I was served well by my point and shoot cameras, I remember spending 500 dollars to get the first 5mp camera that came out way back. My last camera was a 5mp Canon Elph, I was a big supporter of not using a camera case. I kept that thing loose in my pocket, on in my hand around town, and around the world. Afterall, you need to be ready to snap a photo at any time, far too many people have amazing cameras that stay in nice little cases tucked safely away in their house. I wasn’t afraid to let a camera take a little abuse, subsiquently dropping mine many times, in the sand, once in the water, and from pretty decent heights as I was climbing. If you want great photos, sometimes a little sacrifice is needed.

So having been camera-less for a few months, I decided it was time for a new toy. I spent the last few days in camera stores, reading reviews, and watching countless youtube videos showing peoples work with different cameras. I was determined to get a DSLR this time, and for a while I was hooked on the Canon 50D. But I just couldnt imagine myself carrying such a large camera with me on my next trip, it just wouldnt be practicle, it would end up in a case in my house, and not with me, where the good photographs are waiting to be taken.

I started to extensively look at the Canon Rebel Series, and at the time I had no interest in a video option, that was until I started to look more into the Canon T1i or as its known outside of north america, the 500D. This was a DSLR camera with not only video mode, but a 1080p full HD video mode.

I do like to dabble in the odd video, so I thought this might be the perfect option for me. After checking out what seems like millions of sample photos, and a few very amazing videos, the deal was sealed. I price shopped around town and found a great deal on one and went to pick it up last night. So here’s me opening up my new Canon 500D/T1i with EF-S 18-55mm and EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lenses.

And if you want to see some of the reasons why I bought this camera, check these out, using a 500D:

Or this clip: http://vimeo.com/4778001

Tim Burton: film maker from the dark side.

16 Oct

I believe we all have a dark side, a side that surfaces a little when we watch haunting movies and read scary literature. Fear is this human emotion that many of us suppress, but I think it’s healthy to do something that scares you once and a while. And what better time to do that than in this halloween season.

I just got my copy of ‘The Nightmare Before Christmas’ on blu-ray, and thought I should do a little rant about Tim Burton. I’ve long been a fan of his works, although I had never seen the ‘Vincent’ short that he made in gasp…1982. Man that makes me feel old, that was damn near 30 years ago! But even then Tim Burton was doing his thing, and that thing is bringing a slightly dark side to the film industry. Breaking out of the norm with a more twisted perception on life with beautiful and touching stories, such as ‘Edward Scissorhands’ one of my personal fav’s.  

He is one of the most creative and influential story tellers of our generation in my opinion. Would you not agree?

Check out ‘Vincent’: